Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

If you harbor even the slightest interest in interior design (likely, considering you’re reading a blog that celebrates paint), chances are you’re familiar with mood boards. I’d never made a mood board, oddly, but this week I had my chance in my Interior Materials class.

Modern orange + pink mood board, via #RoomLust

We were each assigned words and instructed to create a mood board that evoked that word, using at least several colors, paints, fabrics, furniture choices, etc. The goal wasn’t to design a specific room but rather to visually express a feeling.

I was assigned the word “refreshed.” Using the amazing Luis Barragán and his Mexico City home as inspiration, I chose an orange/fuchsia/white/azure color scheme with modernist details. I wanted the ‘refreshed’ effect to be more ‘mango and raspberry sorbet’ than ‘blue and green spa’ — I wanted to avoid anything obvious.

I quite like how it turned out. Here are the sources:

Paint colors: Portola Paints Summer Squash, C2 Milk Moustache, Benjamin Moore Blue Wave, Ralph Lauren Racer Pink

Throw pillow: Missoni Home ‘Ormond’ pillow in turquoise

Fabrics: Designers’ Guild Sarafan linen (remnant found on eBay), Donghia Belgian linen sheer in Robin, Schumacher Sally in Bubblegum, azure velvet

Pink chair: Hans Olsen, Denmark, vintage 1950s (1stdibs)

Sofa: ‘Deco Sofa’ by Autoban for de La Espada, Portugal

ScreenEugenio Escudero, Mexico, vintage 1950s (1stdibs)

